Archive

 

The tape archive of the former Free Music Production (FMP) comprises analogue and digital recordings from the years 1965 to 2000, the major part of them so far unpublished and - in the case of the multi-track recordings - unmixed.

However, to a large extent the different generations of original tape machines with their specific noise reduction systems for editing are available in the adjacent studio.

This allows stereo and multi-track recordings to be transferred on to digital tapes, thus maintaining their authenticity. Copying is urgently required since the analogue tapes, owing to their age and, in some cases their inferior quality, show considerable signs of damage.

This archive was and is an open archive. However, there is one serious restriction: Only the actual recorded musicians have access and entitlement to the recordings in this archive. This stipulation had the effect that, in the past, musicians have published their music from this archive on the most varied selection of labels and they continue to do so.

In this context, here are some examples for publications from the archive over the past years:

In the long-term the whole FMP-archive (recordings - press-cuttings - documentation) is supposed to be handed over to the Jazzinstitute Darmstadt after a period for collating the material. The Jazzinstitute is already in possession of the vinyl recordings of the FMP-Records/Uhlklang labels as well as the CDs of the existing label, all of them with the original inlay card, and the entire poster archive of the former Free Music Production (FMP).

Translation: Isabel Seeberg & Paul Lytton

Archiv

 

Das Bandarchiv der ehemaligen Free Music Production (FMP) umfasst analoge und digitale Aufnahmen aus der Zeit 1965 bis 2000. Der größere Teil davon bislang ungehört sowie - bei Mehrspuraufnahmen - ungemischt.

Allerdings stehen im angeschlossenen Studio zum großen Teil die originalen Aufnahmemaschinen mehrerer Generationen mit den jeweils unterschiedlich eingesetzten Noise Reduction Systemen zur Bandbearbeitung zur Verfügung.

Stereo und Mehrspuraufnahmen können somit originalgetreu auf digitale Bänder überspielt werden. Die Überspielungen sind dringend notwendig, da das analoge Bandmaterial aufgrund des Alters und teilweise schlechter Qualität inzwischen erhebliche Schäden aufweist.

Dieses Archiv war und ist ein offenes Archiv. Allerdings mit einer gravierenden Einschränkung: Zugriff und Anspruch auf die Aufnahmen aus diesem Archiv haben ausschließlich die jeweils verantwortlichen Musiker. Diese Regelung führte dazu, dass in der Vergangenheit auch immer wieder aus diesem Archiv von den Musikern bei unterschiedlichsten Labels ihre Musik veröffentlicht wurde und wird.

Dazu einige Beispiele für Veröffentlichungen aus diesem Archiv aus den vergangenen Jahren:

Langfristig soll das ganze FMP-Archiv (Aufnahmen - Presse - Dokumente) nach einer entsprechenden Aufarbeitung dem Jazzinstitut Darmstadt übergeben werden. Bereits im Jazzinstitut befinden sich die Schallplatten der Labels FMP-Records/Uhlklang sowie die CDs des bestehenden Labels, diese alle mit der originalen Inlaycard. Darüber hinaus befindet sich dort auch bereits das gesamte Posterarchiv der ehemaligen Free Music Production (FMP).